Corwin Hansch Award


The 2014 Hansch Award goes to Andreas Bender PhD, Lecturer for Molecular Informatics at the Chemistry Department, University of Cambridge UK, for outstanding contributions in the field of molecular similarity, and integrating biological and chemical descriptors for in silico pharmacology.

Dr Andreas Bender is a Lecturer for Molecular Informatics with the Centre for Molecular Informatics at the University of Cambridge, leading a group of about 20 postdocs, PhD and graduate students and academic visitors. In his work, Andreas is involved with the integration and analysis of chemical and biological data, aimed at understanding phenotypic compound action (such as cellular readouts, and also organism-level effects) on a mechanistic level, ranging from compound efficacy to toxicity prediction. Recent focus areas of his group include the modelling of compound combinations, in silico target prediction for mode-of-action analysis and compound selectivity modelling, as well as the utilization of gene expression data for compound selection and drug repurposing. Andreas received his PhD from the University of Cambridge (UK), developing virtual screening methods working with Prof. Robert C. Glen, and subsequently he joined the Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research in Cambridge/MA as a Presidential Postdoctoral Fellow.

Andreas currently has more than 110 publications in the cheminformatics, bioinformatics and drug discovery fields to his credit and serves on the editorial board of Combinatorial Chemistry and High-Throughput Screening, as well as the Journal of Chemical Informatics and Modeling and Expert Opinion in Drug Discovery. He received the EFMC Prize for a Young Medicinal Chemist in Academia 2010, as well as the Prize for Innovation in Medicinal and Pharmaceutical Chemistry by the German Chemical and Pharmaceutical Societies (GDCh and DPhG) and the Bayer Early Excellence in Science Award in 2011. In 2013 Andreas has been awarded an ERC Starting Grant to model mixture effects of chemical structures in biological systems using mechanistic approaches, an area currently very little understood.

The award, established in 2000, is named after the late honorary chair of the Society and the pioneer of the interdisciplinary science of QSAR, Dr. Corwin Hansch.



The winner is selected from a poll of nominees, under the age of 40 years, who is active in the field of Quantitative Structure-Activity Relationships (QSAR), and who has contributed significantly to the field.

The Hansch Awards are presented at the European QSAR Symposia and the Gordon Research Conferences on Computer-Aided Drug Design.


2012—Renxiao Wang
2011—Anna Linusson, Jeremy L. Jenkins
2010—Ismael Zamora
2009—Holger Gohlke
2008—Heather A. Carlson
2007—Andrew L. Hopkins
2006—Jordi Mestres
2005—Matthias Rarey
2004—Rebecca C. Wade
2003—David E. Clark
2002—Tudor I. Oprea
2001—Gabriele Cruciani
2000—Hua Gao